Review: L’Occitane Sublime beauty cream


Hello, beauties! Today I’d like to introduce to you L’Occitane’s Sublime beauty cream. It’s a BB cream with SPF 30, I got mine in shade 01 light. Interesting in more info? 😉

My review in numbers*:

*Maximum possible rating is 5 points for each category.

Satisfaction with Product Effects  3
Ingredients  4
Would buy again?  1
Packaging  4
Pricing  3
Overall Rating  3

loccitane_sublimebeautycream_birchbox-com

Thanks to Birchbox for the pic!

 

What is this?

It’s a BB cream with sunscreen SPF 30 (broad spectrum). It is to be used as day cream.

 

My experience

Application: I had to be real quick at applying it, because it binds with your skin so quickly! Despite a fast but meticulous application, the result was (at least in my case) an uneven application, which I had to correct with my fingers. On the end it looked like a little poorly applied foundation. But on the other hand, it smells really good and leaves a good feeling on the skin, too! 🙂

Immediate effects: Please, look at the photos presented below. If you’re expecting the coverage of a BB cream, this cream will unfortunately leave you down. If you’re looking at it as a day cream that gives your already flawless complexion an extra subtle glow, this could be your thing! It evened out my skin tone a bit, making my skin more radiant. From up-close it unfortunately looked like it sank into my pores and made them even a bit more visible. My skin had a greasy shine after applying it (this never happens with my regular foundation!), that’s why I applied Alverde’s transparent mineral powder afterwards.

After 8 hours: the mineral powder worked for some time, but after coming home in 8 hrs, my skin had that greasy look again. What’s more, the foundation looked like it mostly vanished to thin air, leaving behind just two very small areas of the face covered to some minimal extent.

Cleansing: Taking this foundation off was a true challenge. I didn’t yet meet a foundation that my good old almond oil couldn’t remove fully – at least till now! :/ To my horror, when I tried to remove this foundation with almond oil, the mix started to behave strangely – as if I put some really sticky silicones on, yikes! Even after I applied tonic water, my skin stayed oily and the foundation stayed partly on my face. I succeded cleansing it off with L’Occitanes Immortelle Precious cleansing foam, though – thank god for this flawless cleanser! On the second day testing, I tried to cleanse it off with Balea Mild Washcream; well, this cream actually managed to clean most of my face, but with much effort. As far as I understand, it’s not really recommended to remove your MU with coarse moves – Balea didn’t pass the test for me here. Once again L’Occitanes cleansing foam saved my ass. After that, I just gave up and quit testing which cleanser could remove this stubborn stuff.

What’s more, I heard that I’m not alone in my experience with this foundation! Other girls have encoutered the same issues – weird consistency, streaky application and removal problems. On the other side, I read that some girls with oily skin were very content with applying this cream? Makes sense though. 🙂

 

 

So, here’s the bare skin pic. Hello! 😉

Review_LOccitane_SublimeBeautyCream3

And here’s how foundation looks from the same angle. I intentionally photographed my skin impurities 😛 😉 , so you can see the coverage. Neither photo has been colour corrected.

Review_LOccitane_SublimeBeautyCream2

(The second photo does have warmer quality, though – but both of them are just my closeup and the raw flash!)

 

Product description

The foundation has a very weird consistency – to me it looks like the ingredients aren’t fully mixed in it. There are streaks visible on the foundation when you squeeze it out of the tube. I tried to capture this on the photo below – I hoped I managed to:

Review_LOccitane_SublimeBeautyCream1

I had just a sample to test, but I think the packaging of a tube is OK – allows the user a hygienic handling with the product.  Positioning (and keeping) it on the shelf could be a challenge though – just because it’s such a small area that has contact with the shelf. A better solution is to store it in some sort of MU drawer/organizer with separate compartments.

 

A word or two on the ingredients

I’d like to remind you that it is not clear, whether the second suncreen in ingredients (Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) functions like a hormonal disruptor or not. Some say yes, others no. But something is sure: this is a chemical filter that absorbs UV rays; because of this it could irritate the skin. And moreover, chemical filters make a lot of free radicals on your skin.

There’s not a lot of organic cosmetic ingredients in this product (please look below), even though L’Occitane likes to point that out.

 

INCI: Aqua, CI 77891/Titanium dioxide, Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, Glycerin, Vegetable Oil/Olus oil, Silica, Cyclomethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Octyldodecanol, Potassium cetyl phosphate, Methyl methacrylate crosspolymer, CI 77492/Iron oxides, Coco-glucoside, Cetearyl Alcohol, Angelica Archangelica Root Extract*, Angelica Archangelica Root Oil*, Iris Florentina Root Extract*, Iris Pallida Root Extract*, Lens Esculenta Fruit Extract, Simmondsia chinesis (jojoba) Seed Oil, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Phenoxyethanol, Parfum/Fragrance, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Lauroyl lysine, Polyglyceryl-2 caprate, Coconut alcohol, Dimethiconol, Chlorphenesin, Alumina, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sclerotium Gum, Xanthan Gum, Sucrose stearate, Stearic Acid, Tocopherol, Glyceryl caprylate, Squalane, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Limonene, CI 77499/Iron oxides, CI 77491/Iron oxides.
*Ingredients from ogranic farming
(Data source: product body label)

 

All in all?

This foundation didn’t make a big impression on me, firstly because it’s a product that’s not fitted to my needs. I like to use day cream separately from my foundation and like (need! 😉 ) some more coverage. But still – if you’re looking for a day cream with a hint of colour, this just might be it! Although that superquickbinding with the skin still puzzles me! I’d think my purchase through twice also because of that suspicious sunscreen. My advice would definitely be to test it prior to buying it! 😉

 

Hungry for more info?

Packaging: a plastic bottle/tube

Amount: 40 ml

Price: 29,90€

Colour: Light and Medium shade selections

 

 

Would you like to see the eye MU swatch and review? 🙂 Thank you for reading me, hope you have a beautiful day. ❤

What are your thoughts on this?

