Swatch: Kiko 431 Sensual Candy from LE Dark Heroine Laser collection!


This is one of my favourite shades in my collection, so it’s just right to write about it in the first manicure swatches on the blog.

The photo I’ve made was meant just to show the Kiko to some friends, so either the photo and neither the manicure aren’t flawless – keep that in mind. When I get around using this Kiko for a manicure again, I promise I’ll make better swatches and publish them in this post.

 

My review in numbers:

General review
Formula  3
Coverage  4
Brush/Bottle  4
Longevity  4
General total score  3,75

 

Eco score
Big 4 free  4
Cruelty free  5
Total score  4,5

 

This Sensual Candy beauty was a part of the Dark Heroine Laser Limited Edition that came out in fall 2013. I fell in love instantaneously. I got it from the Kiko store in Palmanova, Italy – thanks to Stella, also the author on this blog! 😀

KikoLaser_431SensualCandy

Colour, Coverage, Texture

I think the name of the nail polish tells it all as far the colour goes – it’s a sensual candy very bright pink colour, with gentle irridescent pearly finish. The application unfortunately drives me mad, because the nail polish applies streakily! With one coat there’s still some nail seen through, two coats will get you perfect colour coverage. To even out the streakiness, I give it three coats; maybe it’s just me and I’m not used to the brush.

Longevity

All my manicures are done with Microcell 2000 Nail Repair base coat and Essie Good to go! fast drying top coat. Please keep that in mind when I talk about the longevity of my manicures; I noticed that this one lasted a day less than normal (4 days). This is still OK, since I work a lot with water on my current workplace and I don’t have time to use protection gloves. I can’t say much about the speed of drying (it’s Essie’s G2G fault! 😉 ).

Brush, Flask

The flask is a classical Kiko’s one, the same goes with the brush. It captures just the right amount of the product, so you can paint a nail with just one application. Personally I think Kiko would do a wonderful job if they renewed the brush, make it wider – this would really ease the process of application for me. You’ll get 11 ml of the nail polish in a flask, which I think is a pretty good bargain for an affordable price (a few euros).

Eco?

Kiko’s (all) products are cruelty free, they don’t test on animals, which is a big thumb up from me! Their nail polishes are also free of some common toxic ingredients (Toluene, Camphor, DBP and Formaldehyde), which is another great news.

This nail polish is unfortunately not available in Kiko’s web store anymore. If you like the colour, you’ll have to search for it in a physical Kiko store and have some luck along with that.

 

Do you like the shade? Do you own any of the Kiko nail polishes? If yes, which ones, and what is your experience with these? Do you find our review helpful?

What are your thoughts on this?

